2013 Official Fire Schedule

Opening day is inching closer - Jonathan Daniel

Well, here it is folks. The official 2013 Fire schedule. Now that we know the full slate of games, we can get an idea of what the 2013 campaign will look like, and many of us can plan trips to home and away games as well

2013 Chicago Fire Schedule

#

DATE (TV)

OPPONENT

VENUE

HOME/AWAY

TIME (CT)

1

Sunday, Mar 3 (UNIVISION)

LA Galaxy

Los Angeles

Away

4:00 PM

2

Saturday, Mar 9 (NBCSN)

New England

Chicago

Home

6:30 PM

3

Saturday, Mar 16 (NBCSN)

Kansas City

Kansas City

Away

2:00 PM

4

Sunday, Mar 24 (UNIMAS)

Chivas

Chicago

Home

4:00 PM

5

Sunday, Apr 7 (ESPN2)

New York

Chicago

Home

4:00 PM

6

Sunday, Apr 14 (UNIMAS)

Houston

Houston

Away

4:00 PM

7

Saturday, Apr 20

Columbus

Chicago

Home

7:30 PM

8

Saturday, Apr 27 (NBCSN)

Montreal

Montreal

Away

3:00 PM

9

Saturday, May 11 (NBCSN)

Philadelphia

Chicago

Home

12:30 PM

10

Saturday, May 18

Philadelphia

Philadelphia

Away

6:30 PM

11

Saturday, May 25

Real Salt Lake

Real Salt Lake

Away

8:00 PM

12

Sunday, Jun 2 (UNIMAS)

DC

Chicago

Home

4:00 PM

13

Saturday, Jun 8

Portland

Chicago

Home

7:30 PM

14

Wednesday, Jun 19

Colorado

Chicago

Home

7:30 PM

15

Saturday, Jun 22

Columbus

Columbus

Away

7:00 PM

16

Wednesday, Jul 3

San Jose

Chicago

Home

7:30 PM

17

Sunday, Jul 7 (ESPN)

Kansas City

Chicago

Home

2:00 PM

18

Sunday, Jul 14

Vancouver

Vancouver

Away

TBD

19

Saturday, Jul 20

DC

Chicago

Home

7:30 PM

20

Saturday, Jul 27 (NBCSN)

Houston

Houston

Away

7:00 PM

21

Saturday, Aug 3

Philadelphia

Philadelphia

Away

6:30 PM

22

Saturday, Aug 10

Montreal

Chicago

Home

7:30 PM

23

Saturday, Aug 17

New England

New England

Away

6:30 PM

24

Friday, Aug 23 (NBCSN)

Kansas City

Chicago

Home

7:30 PM

25

Sunday, Sep 1 (UNIMAS)

Houston

Chicago

Home

4:00 PM

26

Saturday, Sep 7 (NBCSN)

Seattle

Seattle

Away

9:00 PM

27

Wednesday, Sep 11 (TSN, TSN)

Toronto

Toronto

Away

TBD

28

Saturday, Sep 14

New England

Chicago

Home

7:30 PM

29

Saturday, Sep 21

Columbus

Columbus

Away

6:30 PM

30

Saturday, Sep 28

Montreal

Chicago

Home

7:30 PM

31

Friday, Oct 4 (NBCSN)

DC

DC

Away

7:00 PM

32

Saturday, Oct 12

Dallas

Dallas

Away

7:30 PM

33

Saturday, Oct 19

Toronto

Chicago

Home

7:30 PM

34

Sunday, Oct 27 (UNIMAS)

New York

New York

Away

4:00 PM

-Upon first look, the balance of home and away games seems to be spread out pretty evenly. There isn't any long stretches of home or away games at one time, and that's fine with me. While it's always nice to have a long stretch of home games, it's hell when you have to pay it back with a tough road trip.

-Another thing I noticed is that there are only 3 Wednesday games this year. Midweek games are always a tougher draw, for obvious reasons. One, the crowd is much smaller. Two, it's tough when you have a weekend game, a midweek game, and then another weekend game all with 7 or 8 days. This is even worse when you have injury issues or need to rotate players for proper rest. I never have liked midweek games so it's nice to see them minimized this season.

-Going off the same idea as midweek games, it is encouraging to see a lot of evening games too. Early afternoon games have their advantages too, but I think most of us prefer evening affairs. Again, the crowd is better, and in the dead heat of summer, I would rather play soccer at 7 PM rather than 1 PM. Plus the later starts also help with more national viewings as well. By my count, between ESPN2 and NBC Sports, we have 10 prime time games. Although a chunk of these are earlier games, it's good to see the Fire having so many games in front of a national audience. This should get some nice exposure for a team that regularly flies under the radar in the eyes of most of the national media.

-We get some good early season action in the East in April with back to back matches against Houston and Columbus. The Houston match should be intense as we will be looking to get some revenge for our playoff exit at their hands last season. And Columbus is, well Columbus. We all get to point, laugh, and make fun of their yellow uniforms. And then we get to beat them. Rinse, repeat.

-July will be a tough stretch with San Jose, Kansas City, Vancouver, DC and Houston all back to back. This could be a very important stretch for the team depending on where we sit heading into that portion of the schedule. We definitely need players to be healthy as this will be a very tough, physical stretch. Upon first glance, to me this could be the biggest stretch for the Men in Red in terms of toughness. I am marking July down already as a key month.

-We only get Seattle once this year, and it's there in Seattle (of course). We still need to get that Seattle monkey off our back, so when we win it will be that much sweeter to do it in their (borrowed) house. Unfortunately I don't think they will have learned what real grass is by then.

Feel free to weigh in with your own thoughts in the comments section.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join Hot Time In Old Town

You must be a member of Hot Time In Old Town to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Hot Time In Old Town. You should read them.

Join Hot Time In Old Town

You must be a member of Hot Time In Old Town to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Hot Time In Old Town. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9353_tracker