clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MLS Re-Entry Draft:Chris Rolfe and Logan Pause Opt Out Of Stage 2

It appears that Chris Rolfe and Logan Pause might be returning to the Fire.

John Gress

The Stage 2 of the 2013 re-Entry Draft will take place tomorrow, and there are 48 players available for selection, including former league MVP Dwayne De Rosario.

Two player who will not be available in Stage 2 are Chris Rolfe and Logan Pause as both players have opted out. Anthony Zilis published an article today which mentioned that Yallop "seems to feel good about the prospect" of re-signing Rolfe and Pause to new deals. Nothing can be confirmed until the club makes an announcement, which most likely happen tomorrow, but signs seem to point to Pause and Rolfe returning for 2014.

The Chicago Fire will have the 8th pick in tomorrow's Re-Entry Draft. I have a hard time seeing the Fire pick any of the 48 available players up. If the Fire are looking for a back up keepers, both Josh Saunders and Joe Canon are available and could help the Fire get through a World Cup year. While Saunders has had some off the field issues, he has won an MLS Cup and is only 32 years of age.

Below is the list of players available. If you think the Fire might take a chance on any of these guys, feel free to leave a comment.

Chicago Fire (5): D Shaun Francis, M Joel Lindpere, F Maicon Santos, M Wells Thompson*, M Michael Videira

Chivas USA (3): D Ante Jazic*, D Steve Purdy, M Josue Soto

Columbus Crew (2): M Danny O'Rourke, M Konrad Warzycha

Colorado Rapids (3): GK Steward Ceus, D Brian Mullan, M Jamie Smith

D.C. United (5): M Dwayne De Rosario, D James Riley, F Carlos Ruiz, M Marcelo Saragosa, D Daniel Woolard

FC Dallas (2): M David Ferreira, D Ugo Ihemelu

Houston Dynamo (3): F Calen Carr*, M Alex Dixon, F Cam Weaver

LA Galaxy (3): M Colin Clark, M Laurent Courtois,  M Pablo Mastroeni(retired)

Montreal Impact (1): M Sinisa Ubiparipovic

New England Revolution (4): F Chad Barrett, F Ryan Guy, M Clyde Simms, M Juan Toja

New York Red Bulls (4): D Brandon Barklage, F Fabian Espindola, GK Kevin Hartman (retired), D Heath Pearce*

Philadelphia Union (1): D Chris Albright(retired)

Portland Timbers (2): D Ryan Miller

Real Salt Lake (3): D Brandon McDonald, GK Josh Saunders, M Khari Stephenson

Seattle Sounders (1): M Blair Gavin,

San Jose Earthquakes (4): D Nana Attakora, M Mehdi Ballouchy*, D Dan Gargan, GK Evan Newton

Toronto FC (1): F Justin Braun*

Vancouver Whitecaps (2): GK Joe Cannon, F Corey Hertzog