clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Red Stars Release Their Full 2016 Schedule

The season starts on April 16th with the home opener at Toyota Park a week later

Danielle Colaprico and Carli Lloyd battle for possession
Danielle Colaprico and Carli Lloyd battle for possession
Chicago Red Stars

After a few days of hints, the full 2016 NWSL schedule dropped earlier today.

The Red Stars kick off their campaign on April 16th in Houston, while their home opener in their permanent return to Toyota Park kicks off on April 23rd against Western New York.

Their first clash against defending champions FC Kansas City will be an away match on May 13th.

The league will be put on hold for most of August due to the Olympics. There will also be breaks in play to accommodate the FIFA calendar. All this means the regular season will be extended to the last weekend in September.

Here’s the 2016 Red Stars’ season in full:


April 16 (Sat) Houston (away)


April 23 (Sat) Western New York (home)


May 1 (Sun) Orlando (home)


May 7 (Sat) Boston (away)


May 13 (Fri) FCKC (away)


May 22 (Sun) Seattle (away)


May 29 (Sun) Sky Blue (home)


June 12 (Sun) Portland (home)


June 18 (Sat) Boston (home)


June 22 (Wed) Portland (away)


July 1 (Fri) WNY (away)


July 9 (Sat) Washington (away)


July 16 (Sat) Orlando (away)


July 23 (Sat) Houston (home)


July 30 (Sat) FCKC (home)


August 27 (Sat)  Sky Blue (away)


Sept. 4 (Sun) Seattle (home)


Sept. 7 (Wed) FCKC (home)


Sept. 11 (Sun)  FCKC (away)


Sept. 24 (Sat) Washington (home)