clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The 2019 Red Stars Schedule Is Out

A Fire/Red Stars double-header, the Drainage Derby, and some subtle trolling

Photo by Shaina Benhiyoun

It’s here. It’s here. It’s here!

The Chicago Red Stars announced their full 2019 schedule today— and we can barely contain our excitement.

The 2019 campaign kicks off on April 13th with the Red Stars travelling to North Carolina to take on the defending NWSL champions (henceforth known as the Drainage Derby). The team is wasting no time in getting its rematch against the Courage following that heartbreaking loss in last year’s playoff semifinals.

Chicago’s home opener the following Saturday will also be the second act of the now-annual Fire/Red Stars doubleheader. After the Chicago Fire host the Colorado Rapids at a noontime kickoff, the Red Stars will line up against the Portland Thorns at 2:30pm.

Chicago will also host their annual Pride Game on May 26th against the Washington Spirit. [Editor’s note: lol.]

The Red Stars will have a three week break in June, in large part due to the World Cup. They’ll also have to wait several weeks between their last regular season game— Sept. 28th at home against Utah Royals— and the start of the playoffs. In fact, the last round of regular season games are scheduled for Oct. 12th, which means the Red Stars may not know for up to two weeks whether or not they qualified for the playoffs.

The NWSL Championship Final is scheduled for Oct. 26th.

Check out the Red Stars’ full schedule below:

2019 Chicago Red Stars Season

DATE MATCH TIME (Central Time)
DATE MATCH TIME (Central Time)
Saturday, April 13 @ NC Courage 7:00 PM
Saturday, April 20 vs. Portland Thorns FC 2:30 PM
Saturday, April 27 vs. Reign FC 7:00 PM
Friday, May 3 @ Utah Royals 8:30 PM
Sunday, May 12 vs. NC Courage 5:00 PM
Sunday, May 19 @ Houston Dash 5:00 PM
Sunday, May 26 vs. Washington Spirit 5:00 PM
Sunday, June 2 @ Portland Thorns 5:00 PM
Sunday, June 23 vs. Reign FC 5:00 PM
Sunday, June 30 @ Orlando Pride 4:00 PM
Saturday, July 6 vs. Sky Blue FC 7:00 PM
Saturday, July 13 @ Houston Dash 7:30 PM
Sunday, July 21 vs. NC Courage 5:00 PM
Sunday, July 28 @ Reign FC 3:00 PM
Saturday, Aug. 3 vs. Utah Royals 7:00 PM
Saturday, August 10 @ Washington Spirit 6:00 PM
Wednesday, Aug. 14 @ Sky Blue FC 6:00 PM
Wednesday, Aug. 21 vs. Orlando Pride 6:30 PM
Sunday, Aug. 25 @ Portland Thorns 2:00 PM
Sunday, Sept. 8 vs. Houston Dash 5:00 PM
Wednesday, Sept. 11 @ Orlando Pride 6:30 PM
Sunday, Sept. 15 @ Sky Blue FC 4:00 PM
Sunday, Sept. 22 vs Washington Spirit 7:00 PM
Saturday, Sept. 28 vs Utah Royals FC 7:00 PM