clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Chicago Red Stars release roster, updated schedule for 2020 Challenge Cup

No Red Stars players opted out because of COVID-19 concerns

Portland Thorns FC v Chicago Red Stars

The Chicago Red Stars are sending all five of its USWNT players to Utah for the NWSL Challenge Cup. Unlike several other NWSL teams, none of Chicago’s star players will miss the tournament due to COVID-19 related concerns.

One bit of bad news: the team announced Alyssa Mautz is out indefinitely with a knee injury.

Included in the 28-player roster are newcomers Cassie Miller, 2020 draftees Camryn Biegalski, Julia Bingham, Zoe Morse and Ella Stevens, and undrafted forward Sarah Luebbert.

“I am excited about the players we have representing Chicago in the upcoming tournament,” Red Stars head coach Rory Dames said in a news release. “We have a great combination of seasoned players familiar with the grind combined with younger players that have great potential. We are ready to take the field and make our supporters and our city proud.”

Miller, who is a goalkeeper, spent last season in Cyprus with Apollon Ladies FC, and previously spent time with PSV Eindhoven in 2018 after being a First-Team All-American at Florida State. Luebert was a 2019 First-Team All-SEC forward from the University of Missouri.


Goalkeepers (3): Emily Boyd, Cassie Miller, Alyssa Naeher (FED-USA)

Defenders (11): Camryn Biegalski, Julia Bingham, Tierna Davidson (FED-USA), Hannah Davison, Julie Ertz (FED-USA), Zoey Goralski, Sarah Gorden, Zoe Morse, Kayla Sharples, Casey Short (FED-USA), Bianca St. Georges

Midfielders (7): Morgan Brian (FED-USA), Danielle Colaprico, Vanessa DiBernardo, Savannah McCaskill, Yuki Nagasato (INTL-JPN), Cassie Rohan, Ella Stevens

Forwards (7): Makenzy Doniak, Rachel Hill, Katie Johnson, Sarah Luebbert, Zoe Redei, Michele Vasconcelos, Kealia Watt


With the Orlando Pride withdrawing from the tournament on Monday after several players tested positive, the whole schedule and format needed to be revised.

Gone from the original schedule are Sky Blue FC, Houston Dash and Orlando Pride. The new schedule is considerably tougher, and includes games against 2019 champions North Carolina Courage, 2019 semi-finalist Portland Thorns, and the Washington Spirit. Only the host Utah Royals remains. Because Orlando dropped out, the tournament only has eight clubs, meaning all teams will make the knockout stage.

Red Stars schedule for the 2020 Challenge Cup:

Sat, June 27 9.00PM CDT vs. Washington Spirt – CBS All Access

Wed, July 1 11.30AM CDT vs. Portland Thorns – CBS All Access

Sun, July 5 11.30AM CDT vs NC Courage – CBS All Access

Sun, July 12 9.00PM CDT vs. Utah Royals – CBS All Access.

The knockout round schedule:

Fri., July 17

Quarterfinal 1 at Zions Bank Stadium 12:30 p.m. CBS All Access

Quarterfinal 2 at Zions Bank Stadium 10 p.m. CBS All Access

Sat., July 18

Quarterfinal 3 at Zions Bank Stadium 12:30 p.m. CBS All Access

Quarterfinal 4 at Zions Bank Stadium 10 p.m. CBS All Access

Wed., July 22

Semifinal 1 at Zions Bank Stadium 12:30 p.m. CBS All Access

Semifinal 2 at Rio Tinto Stadium 10 p.m. CBS All Access

Sun., July 26

Final at Rio Tinto Stadium 12:30 p.m. CBS & CBS All Access